The Short Story Challenge

So, partly inspired by this post over on Book Riot, and party because I’ve had such an urge to try to get into short stories the past couple of months, I’ve decided to create a bit of a challenge for myself.  My plan for this challenge is to read one collection a month for the rest of 2016 (I may try going beyond that, but let’s just see how this year goes!). I’m going to be a little relaxed about this, and if I start a collection and just don’t enjoy it, I’m going to call it a win just for trying that collection for the month.  I don’t want to create any major obligation and force myself to continue to read a collection I’m really not feeling, so I think this will work for me.

The short story collections I already own are The Persephone Book of Short Stories and Daydreams of Angels by Heather O’Neill. I started the Persephone Book during the 24 in 48 Readathon, so I’ll keep going with that for the month of January, but I need more books! I’ve gotten tons of ideas for other collections to read from the Book Riot post and its comments, but I could still use some more suggestions/recommendations.  Any ideas?  Anyone want to go at this with me?

4 thoughts on “The Short Story Challenge”

  1. Ahhhhh, I adore short stories! Good luck with the challenge! I have the Persephone Book of Short Stories but I’m saving it for the ideal moment.

    I adore Dorothy Parker’s short stories but too many at a time can get repetitive. Daphne du Maurier writes some amazing short stories as well.

    My preference for short stories are those with tight tension and a punchy ending. Ambiguous shorts that go nowhere usually get a pass from me. I might be able to recommend more shorts if I knew what kind of short stories you like. 🙂

    Like

  2. If you liked “Fates and Furies,” you must read her short story collection, “Delicate, Edible Birds.” I am on the last story, and they have all been wonderful. I think you will really enjoy it. Other short story collections I have read and loved recently: “Stay Up With Me” by Tom Barbash, “I Want to Show You More” by Jamie Quatro, (perhaps surprisingly) “One More Thing” by B.J. Novak, and anything by George Saunders. Happy reaading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

