Review: The Wicked + The Divine

The Wicked + The Divine is a comic about gods living among the mortals in the form of rock stars.  I’d been hearing about this coming pretty much since it was first released.  I kept hearing about how amazing it was, how cool of a concept it was.  When I received an ARC for the third volume through NetGalley, I took it as a sign that I needed to bite the bullet and read them.

First, the artwork.  While I favored the first artist over all others, I have to admit, all of the artwork was gorgeous.  It was nice and clean, and I spent large amounts of time just staring at some of the pages before remembering that there were actual words I should be reading.

I thought the characters were great and the narrator was likable. I related to her and connected to her in a way. That is always important to me in any story.  The other characters were harder to connect with, but learning a bit about their backstories in later issues really helped me like them.  Throughout all the issues I saw them exactly how I was supposed to be viewing them: as untouchable gods.  And then reading their backstories I saw how they were flawed and had feelings like the rest of us.

Based on what I’ve heard about this comic from others, I expected the first volume to be fantastic and then the rest slowly go downhill from there.  That’s what I’ve heard online.  The exact opposite happened for me.  The first volume was confusing and jumbled to me, and it wasn’t until the second half of the second volume that I really started enjoying things and understood all that was going on in the comic. My review would have been higher had the first volume been better. I loved the third volume and thought the ending was fantastic.  It really peaked my interest for the rest of the comic series.  I’m seriously considering ordering the issues as they come out instead of waiting for the volumes.

Overall, I really like the idea of this comic series.  I love the idea of comparing rock stars to mythical gods, because that is how the media views celebrities.  It really made me think about the portrayal of celebrities in the world and how ridiculous it is to place them on such high of a pedestal.  I’ll be looking forward to reading more.

Read this if you like mythology and want a new way of looking at it. Three stars.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Wicked + The Divine”

  1. I had a similar experience when I read the first volume. It was a confusing to me. I didn’t get the point of the story but I loved the illustrations. Clean lines. And I love the colors. Everyone says this comic is great but I haven’t yet continued with it because I didn’t get into the first volume.

    Like

    1. If I didn’t already own the second volume and hadn’t gotten the third through NetGalley, I probably wouldn’t have continued either. Which is really a shame, since I ended up really liking it, and I think a lot of people felt like both of us and didn’t like the first volume. I’d love to hear your thoughts if you decide to continue on with it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

