25 Pages a Day

I saw an article a couple of weeks ago that really got me thinking.  It was an article on a solution to getting more reading in and how to read those big books without feeling intimidated by the size.  That solution was to start small – instead of aiming to read Infinite Jest, aim to read only 25 pages a day.  Those 25 pages will add up, and soon enough Infinite Jest will be seen as an accomplishment instead of a doorstopper.

I’ve seen a lot of articles similar to this; cave out time in your day to read more, get up 30 minutes earlier, stay up 30 minutes later, read for one hour a day, or read a chapter a day.  I have to wonder, does any of it work?

As someone only one year into joining the workforce, I have spent a lot of time trying to figure out how to keep reading when I have to devote so much time to my job.  I have also recently changed job and have gone from a 2 and a half hour round trip commute to only one hour.  I thought all that extra time would all me to read more.  The problem?  The Internet.  I get so distracted on my phone that I delay picking up a book until it is too late.  How can I fix this?  I’m not sure.

Another problem – when to read.  In the morning during coffee?  That’s when I read the news and check my emails.  Lunchtime?  What if I want to go out to lunch with someone or have to eat on the go?  Before bed?  Some days I am just too tired and can’t keep my eyes open long enough to even get a page in.

I’m thinking a daily goal like this may be a good thing for me.  It’s something I can do a little at a time and count page by page, instead of trying to read a large chunk in one sitting.  I’m going to try to add more reading (and less Internet surfing) to my day to fit in those 25 pages.  We’ll see how it goes.

How about you?  Do you have any daily goals?  Do you think any would work for you?

5 thoughts on “25 Pages a Day”

  1. I have to do daily goals… or else I wouldn’t get anything done 🙂 I’m aware that I’m a little(?) neurotic… but here’s my schedule .

    I have a 45 minutes a day writing goal (wake up early and do that before work) and then a 1/4 book a day reading goal (I do that whenever I get down time at work, during lunch, while waiting in line, in bed after dinner).

    I’ve found that the more I read, the less I go on the internet. Win-win scenario for me 😉

    Like

    1. I wish I had your discipline! I can lose track of time so easily (I want to read just one more article online or one more video…then that turns into “just one more!”), and with my job, when I get home for the evening can really vary, so I can’t always rely on evenings to read. Sometimes I don’t get a real lunch break, too, so that really messes with my reading time. I like your daily goals, though! Sounds like it works for you!

      Like

  2. Weirdly for me it’s easier to read during a work week rather than on the weekends or on my days off. I suggest reading while commuting to and from work and on your lunch break when you can. That’s when I get much of my reading done. I’m easily distracted at home unless I’m hooked on a book.
    For big books, I usually break up the pages (half, then quarter, etc.) and, judging by how much I like the story, I set a goal of how much I want to read by when so I might say I want to read half the book by the end of the week or something.

    Like

    1. That’s interesting. I think I get distracted out of the house more than at home. I drive to work and don’t like audiobooks too much, and my lunch breaks are kind of iffy whether I’ll have time to read, so I’ve come to rely on my time at home, especially on the weekend. Thanks for your idea on how you set goals for getting through those big books; I’m trying to figure out what works best for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

