This or That Book Tag

I saw this tag over at Perfection in Books, and I thought it was a great idea, so I did it myself!

 

Audio or Physical Book?

Definitely physical book.  I have a hard time concentrating when I listen to audiobooks.  My mind wanders a lot, and the next thing I know, I’ve missed a huge part of the book, or a character introduction.  Total confusion!

Paperback or Hardback?

This is a tough one…I love how hardbacks look and feel (they just look so well put together and appealing), but paperbacks are easier to carry around and are cheaper.  I don’t always like paperbacks, though, because they can bend and get beat up so easily (I’m one of those people who have to keep their books in pristine condition).   So I’m really not sure which to choose!

Fiction or Nonfiction?

Fiction all the way.  Sometimes it’s really hard to find nonfiction books that are entertaining enough to keep my attention while there are so many fiction books that already do that!  Not that I’m not a fan of nonfiction;  I actually do read a lot of nonfiction.  It’s just harder to find good ones.

Fantasy World or Real Life Issues?

Real life issues.  I don’t know why, but I just really don’t like fantasy stories. Realistic stories are basically all I read. I have a hard time getting invested in the storyline and the characters, because “that could never happen in real life.”

Harry Potter or Twilight?

I know I just said that I only read realistic fiction, and that’s mostly true.  However, the only fantasy story I could ever enjoy (and love) is Harry Potter.  I reread the series almost every year.  Twilight? Not a fan.  At all.

Borrow or Buy?

Unfortunately for my wallet, I prefer to buy.  I can sometimes develop emotional attachments to my books, and the idea that I would have to give one up to return it to the rightful owner makes me anxious.  Also, after working in a library in high school, I know what kind of condition those books can be in…it can be really awful.

Monster Reads or Short & Sweet?

It really depends on my mood.  Mostly monster reads.  I really love seeing big, fat books on my shelf, and I love the accomplished feeling I get when I finish one of them.

Starry Eyed Romance or Full of Action?

While I don’t mind easy little romances, I totally gravitate more toward the action stories.  I love those edge of your seat,  non-stop page turners.

Curl up in Your Snuggle or Bathe in the Sun?

Both!  In the winter and when it’s raining I love to snuggle.  After a long winter, though, I love sitting on my patio and reading until I’m slightly reddened.  But when it’s 80 and humid, I’d rather go inside with the A/C and snuggle up again.

Coffee or Tea?

I’ve got to go with both again!  I love coffee in the morning and tea during the day, then I switch back to (decaf) coffee around bedtime.  I have one particular kind of coffee I love, but have dozens of tea that I like and love to bounce around and mix and match.

 

I don’t know many people in the book blogger world just yet, so I’m choosing to “tag” anyone who reads this and wants to take a shot at it!  I can’t wait to read everyone else’s!

12 thoughts on “This or That Book Tag”

  1. I’m so happy you did this! I loved reading your answers! Maybe you can recommend me some non-fiction because I want to read some but I’m not sure where to start!

    Like

    1. I’d love to! Are there any particular areas of non-fiction you’re looking for? I read a lot of memoirs, biographies, and historys about WWII and the Civil War. I also really like Mary Roach, true crime, and things about the court system.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Unbroken and The Girls of Atomic City are pretty great. So is Team of Rivals (I know it’s huge, but it is so good). Anything by Doris Kearns Goodwin is massive but really good. Many memoirs I like are by celebs: Danielle Fishel, Bob Saget, Jennie Garth. Basically memoirs surrounding my favorite old tv shows.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely love audiobooks! I have had several jobs that allowed me to use headphones while I worked. I belong to Audible.com and I have a whole collection of fiction audiobooks. It paints a picture in your mind and makes you use your imagination. I have never thought about the concentration aspect of it. But I must not have a problem because I use to listen to stories while working.

    Like

Leave a Reply

