Inside and Out Book Tag

I found this tag over at Lunaris Blogs, and I loved it, so I thought I’d get to it!

Inside flap / Back of the book summaries: Too much info? Or not enough (Discuss)

I usually think they are pretty good, not too little, not too much.  What gets me more is when they are misleading.  I don’t like expecting one thing and getting another.

New book: What form do you want it in? Be honest: audio book, e-book, paperback, or hardcover?

I love to buy pretty hardbacks, prefer to read paperbacks over hardbacks, but I think I’m totally an e-book girl now.  So many books to choose from, easier to read in bed, and no need to carry around multiple books just in case I finish the one I’m reading or just feel like starting a new book.  There are so many options right there!

Scribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean? (Tell us why)

I like my books in pristine condition.  Writing in books is close to a sin to me.  Unless I got the book secondhand.  It’s already used an worn so I don’t mind it as much.  I just don’t want to be the one to mess it up!

In your best voice, read for us your favourite first sentence from a book.

Whenever I read the first line of The Great Gatsby, I just get the coziest feeling.  To me The Great Gatsby is associated with hot hot summer days and reading outside and everything wonderful with the season.

“In my younger and more vulnerable years my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since.  “Whenever you feel like criticizing anyone,” he told me, “just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages you’ve had.”

Does it matter to you whether the author is male or female when you’re deciding on a book? What if you’re unsure of the author’s gender?

Nope.  I don’t pay much attention to the gender of the author.  Half the time I couldn’t even tell you the gender after reading a book (unless the author is super famous or a favorite of mine).  I’m more aware of the gender now that I’m trying to keep a log of my reading, but that’s just because I write the author’s name down on the list, so I actually have to look it up.  When I pick a book on my shelves to read, I look at the description of the book first.  When I’m wondering around a bookstore, I see titles and covers that stand out, then I look at the description and decide whether to buy it from there.  Turns out my male to female ratio is pretty even, so I’m good with that.

Ever read ahead? Or have you ever read the last page way before you got there?

I do sometimes.  In romance novels I tend to look toward the end to find out who ends up with whom (I don’t like getting attached to a couple and then they don’t end up together).  Other than that, it’s a bad sign when I read ahead.  It means that I’m bored with the book and want to get on with it.

Organized bookshelves, or outrageous bookshelves?

Organized.  I need my books in alphabetical order by author, and then by publication date when I have multiple by the same author.  I separate my nonfiction from my fiction, try to categorize them when I have a bunch of one kind (reference, writing, and biographies/memoirs), and then they have to be alphabetized, too.  It’s driving me crazy right now, actually, because I’ve run out of space on my shelves and have books piled everywhere, and things are out of ordered, and it’s a mess!  I want to fix it so badly, but I don’t have the room to do it!

Under oath: have you ever bought a book based on the cover (alone)?

No.  I pick up books based on the cover, but I don’t blindly buy based off it.

Take it outside to read, or stay in?

Both.  I tend to read inside, but when the weather is just right, I absolutely love reading outside.  In the spring I love to read outside when it is just starting to get warm again, and I’m just so happy that the snow is behind us.  In the summer, I like reading outside at high noon, with the sun beating down and I can get a nice tan (or a sun burn when I’m really engrossed in a book).  And in the fall reading outside is the best when it starts to get cool and it’s time to wear long sleeves and listen to the wind rustle the leaves on the ground.

6 thoughts on “Inside and Out Book Tag”

  1. I used to buy a lot of books from Amazon but now I tend to use my Kindle the most. I usually read it every night before I go to sleep. I used to do that with a book but since I’ve gotten my Kindle that is all I use. You can supposedly highlight and take notes with that too. Did you know that? I recently found that out but have no idea how it works.

    Like

Leave a Reply

