Tournament of Books

We are almost done with the Tournament of Books!  I have loved reading the judges’ opinions and the following commentaries for every round.  I’ve added books to my TBR after reading about them during the tournament.  I actually went out and bought Bats of the Republic this weekend, it sounded so good.  And it looks like it’s going to be a really cool read!

Zombie Rounds are up tomorrow and Wednesday, and the winner of the whole shebang will be announced on Thursday. The Zombie Rounds are really great, they give me hope when my favorites are knocked out early.  Before the Tournament starts, there was a poll up asking readers for their picks.  At this point in the Tournament, the top two books that have already been knocked out of the Tournament are placed back into the brackets. Here’s what’s up for the Zombie Rounds:

A Little Life vs. The Turner House.  Predicted Winner: I don’t know!  I’d love for Turner House to win, but A Little Life has some serious backing behind it.  And it isn’t unusual for the Zombie pick to move on to the finals.  I have a feeling it’s a definite possibility here.

Fates and Furies vs. The Sellout.  Predicted Winner:  Again, I don’t know!  I loved Fates and Furies, and before this Tournament started I was pretty convinced it would take it all.  Then it was knocked out in the very first round, which really shook everything up for me.  Then, there’s The Sellout.  I hadn’t heard anything about this book before it was shortlisted, but the way everyone talks about it, it’s definitely a classic-in-waiting.  And it sounds like something I would absolutely adore, so I definitely need to get on reading it.  But the outpouring of adoration towards this book during the Tournament has me thinking it is going to win.

It’s always a bit sad for me when the Tournament ends.  I am usually all ready for next year’s!  Does anyone have any book prizes that they love this much?  I’m going to need to follow another prize/award to keep myself distracted until next year!

 

Leave a Reply

