Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

It’s time for another Readathon! It’s Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon this Saturday the 23rd. The goal is to read as much as you can within a 24 hour period. Everyone around the world starts and ends at the same time, so everyone has different start time to correspond with their time zone. You can find your time here. That’s one of the reasons I love this Readathon so much: everyone is together. It’s not like all the other readathons where everyone starts at midnight their time, so all the starts and finishes are staggered. We’re all in this together! I just think it’s really cool how it’s done.

So, with any Readathon, one needs a good TBR! I’ve put a lot of thought into it and have come up with a variety of reads to keep my interest this weekend, no matter what interests they may be.

Here’s my list:

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante. I’m about halfway through the audiobook, and I think listening to it will be the perfect way to continue to read while I run some errands during the day, or if my eyes get tired from reading and need a break.

The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin. I’m only a couple chapters in, and it’s so cute. A very light and easy read, perfect for a Readathon.

What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours by Helen Oyeyemi. It’s been sitting on top of my TBR list since I got it, and short stories are great for when my attention wanders and can’t keep reading some major storyline.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling. Rereads are always great for a Readathon! I had started rereading the series in the winter, but stopped somewhere along the way. Now that I’ve seen the #ReadtheMagic tag on Twitter, I want to read along to gear up for the play release, too! And this one is always a quick read for me, another plus for a Readathon.

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld. Another book I’m in the middle of right now. I’ve got it on my phone, so I’ve got a book to read while I’m out of the house and have a free moment.

Fables #11. I’ve always got to have a graphic novel on my Readathon TBR, because they’re so quick, and I feel accomplished getting through them so fast!

Notorious RBG by Irin Carmon and Shana Knizhnik. Because I need a little non-fiction, and because I’m so, so excited that I got this last week.

 

I know this is a lot (and there might be even one more since I only have about 30 pages of Golden Girls Forever left to read, but I hope to finish that before Saturday), but my plan is not to finish everything. My plan is to read as much as I can, but to enjoy every second I am reading. I tend to be so set on the books I’m reading during a readathon, that I feel like I’m forcing myself to continue reading a book that I’m just not feeling just so I can finish a book and feel like I accomplished something. Not this time! I’m going to read what I want and enjoy the day.

I’m also going to be spending tons of time on Twitter and here on my blog and other blogs checking out how everyone’s doing and what they’re reading! So, what’s on everyone else’s TBR? It’s getting close, and I can’t wait to begin!

Leave a Reply

