Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

So, tomorrow is the Fall edition of Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon!  I officially participated last April, and am excited to give it another go now.  I’ve not really figured out the best way for me to go about a readathon, so I picked out tons of options to turn to tomorrow.  Here’s just a sampling of the books I’ve pulled for the weekend:

The Persephone Book of Short Stories. Some stories to dip in and out of when a novel just won’t do. I’ve read a few in here, but there’s still plenty left for this weekend. 

The Giveness of Things. Essays for the same reason as short stories. And I love Robinson, so I know I’ll love these. 


Missing Millie Benson. A short middle grade biography on one of my favorite authors in existence. I’ve been waiting for a good time to read this!


The Days of Abandonment. I’m hoping reading some of Ferrante’s shorter novels will help me get into her work a little more. And short for the readathon is a plus. 


Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day. Kind of short, light, easy to read…all a good combo. 


Harry Potter Illustrated Editions. I’ve been holding onto the Chamber of Secrets for a special time to read it, and this may be it.  

Northanger Abbey. Part of the Austentatious Book Club. I’ve barely started, so maybe I can get a chunk in. 

Dracula. An audiobook for the times where having a book in my hands just won’t work. 

Finally…Fables comics. Quick to read and will make me feel as if I’m making progress. I’m around issue 11, and it got really slow. Maybe I’m not into the story arc going on right now…I’ll probably skip it and go on to the next issue if that’s the case. 

So my goals for tomorrow… I don’t know if a page count, or a number of books to finish will be beneficial for me. I really just want to end the readathon feeling satisfied. Vague, I know. 

Anyone set solid goals during the readathon? What are they? Who else is participating? 

Leave a Reply

