Winter Reading Recap

With the new Spring Reading List up and going, it’s time to go over my Winter Reading List.  I feel like even though I didn’t succeed in finishing my list, I still succeeded in reading some really great books this season.  So, here’s my recap:

Classics

Little Women: I didn’t finish.  I don’t know why, but I’ve never been able to get into Little Women.  It just might not be the book for me.  I did get much farther than I’ve ever gotten before, though.  Has anyone else had the same problem?  I still want to read this classic, so if you have any advice on how to get through, I’d love to hear it!

Gone with the Wind: I haven’t finished this book yet.  It’s one of my favorites, and I decided I really wanted to savor it and take my time on it.  My reading of it will continue into the spring months!

Jane Eyre: I didn’t start it.  I’ve already read this book, and while every winter I feel like a reread, I just didn’t feel like picking it up when it was time.  It’s still on the shelf whenever the urge hits again, though.

The Woman in White: I didn’t start this one, either.  I just wasn’t feeling classics this winter, it looks like.

 

Nonfiction

Hillbilly Elegy: Finished!  And I have to say I’m surprised at how much I enjoyed this book!

Talking as Fast as I Can: Also finished!  And loved.  Highly recommend for any Gilmore Girls fan.

Salinger: I didn’t start.  My goal was to read three books from each category, and I decided early on that this wouldn’t be my pick for this season.  I still have the book, though, so maybe I’ll be inspired to pick it up some other time.

The Road to Little Dribbling:  I didn’t finish this book.  I decided that I might want to start with some other Bill Bryson before tackling this one.  Any advice on which one to go for first?

 

Newer Releases

Swing Time: Didn’t start

Truly, Madly, Guilty: Didn’t start

Today Will Be Different: Didn’t start

The Girls: Didn’t finish.  For some reason I just really didn’t like this book.  I will not be trying this one again.

 

So clearly I had an issue with newer releases this season.  I have a perfectly good reason for that.  The Tournament of Books shortlist was released in January.  As you can probably tell, the Tournament of Books is one of my favorite literary events of the year.  I started gathering as many of the shortlisted books as I could and read those instead of my Winter list.  I have to say, I am definitely do not regret my choice to forgo this list for the Tournament of Books.  I found some great books.

Even though it doesn’t appear like I did that great reading wise this Winter, I am very pleased with the books that weren’t on this list that I did read.  I’m very happy.

How did everyone else do this winter?  Any opinions on the books I read/didn’t read?

Leave a Reply

